Modern Mix Tribute

I recently made these earrings out of a mix of materials – porcupine quills, leather, Czech seed beads, brass beads, silver and coral.

I bought the porcupine quills in Minnesota over 18 years ago when I used to do a lot of beading. I had been waiting to make something special out of them. While I was in New Mexico this past summer, I was inspired by the Native American jewelry. I particularly admired a pair of beautiful bone earrings, and decided to use my quills to create a modern interpretation.

Leave a Reply

